Salmon with Sweet Potato and Asparagus

Salmon

This dish is a staple at our house. I make it on a weekly basis (no particular day of the week). My husband says he can’t order salmon at any restaurant anymore because they are just not as good as mine 🙂 how sweet.

Sweet Potato
I recently found these sweet potatoes at the grocery store that are microwaveable–whaaaaat?!?! I’m really not sure what makes them microwaveable because I tried microwaving regular ones and it did not work as well. They have a plastic shrink wrap and it says you are supposed to put them in with the plastic on, but I don’t, and they turn out just as well. I put them in 8 min for two at a time on a plate, turn them then add another 5-6 min. Once cooked, I make a slit and sprinkle it with Saigon cinnamon.

Asparagus
I cut about 1-2 inches off the bottoms and place them on a lightly greased baking sheet. Drizzle them with olive oil and sprinkle some Herbes de Provence and sea salt. Place them in the oven for about 15-20 minutes at 375°F.

Salmon
I get individually frozen salmon steaks, only because I hate when they have the skin and really hate cutting the skin out, but you can use fresh salmon. I place them on a lightly greased oven dish, drizzle them with olive oil and a seasoning mix that I make and keep in my pantry (see below for seasoning mix recipe). Place in the oven for exactly 20 minutes at 375°F. Salmon can overcook easily so make sure you take it out right away and and them out of the hot dish because they will continue to cook.

Voilá! Quick and simple….and healthy.

Seasoning Mix
1 part each of:
Salt
Pepper
Onion Powder
Garlic Powder
Cayenne Pepper
Paprika
Mustard Seed
Cumin

Use more on the salmon if you want it a little spicy and less if you want it mild.

Leave a Reply

